Upcoming Events


Founders Merit Award Series

2014 Award Winners included:


Kelly McGinnis – Director of Revenue Cycle, HealthAlliance of the Hudson Valley
Jeffery Nickerson – Audit Manager, Questar II
Charles Ryke – Assistant Director, Revenue Cycle  & System Support, Hospital for Special Surgery
Christina Santullo – Client Service Manager, Quality Billing Services, Inc.


Sarah Brainard – Director of Client Relations, Bluemark, LLC


Deborah Marcellus, CHFP – Supervisor, Accounts Receivable, Phelps Memorial Hospital Center
Camille Freemont – Senior Manager, KPMG
Christy Spencer – Client Service Manager, Quality Billing Service

Founders Medal of Honor:

Kristen Zebrowkski, CHFP – Senior Consultant, Healthcare Management Solutions
Barbara Piascik, HFMA – Chief Compliance Officer, The Brookdale University Hospital and Medical Center


The Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) recognizes that its strength lies in volunteers, who contribute their time, ideas, and energy to serve the healthcare industry, their profession, and one another. Active participation in HFMA at the national, regional and/or chapter levels provides members with numerous opportunities for professional development, information, networking, and advocacy. Established in 1960, the Founders Merit Award Series acknowledges the contributions made by HFMA members. These awards are part of a merit-rating plan in which specific activities are assigned a range of point values.

The Founders Merit Award Series was revised in April 2004, returning to its core purpose of “Recognizing the Volunteer in You.” Point categories were adjusted to reflect volunteer activity only-eliminating the accumulation of points for membership and educational attendance. Corresponding point allocations and award levels were simultaneously adjusted.

HFMA encourages continuous active participation at the local and national levels. Therefore, the point system and award levels have been established to promote continuous active participation in HFMA. A listing of point categories, definitions and their values is available here.


The William G. Follmer Bronze Award is awarded after an individual has earned 25 (formerly 100) member points. This award is named after William G. Follmer, who is credited with the creation of the American Association of Hospital Accountants (AAHA) (now HFMA).

The Robert H. Reeves Silver Award is awarded to an individual who has earned 50 (formerly 200) total member points. Reeves, an organizing member of the AAHA, was elected president of AAHA in 1956 and was instrumental in creating the structure of AAHA.

The Frederick T. Muncie Gold Award is presented to a member who has earned a total of 75 (formerly 300) member points. This award honors Frederick T. Muncie, an organizing member of the AAHA, and the first president of the association (1947-1949). Muncie also assisted in the organization of the first AAHA chapter (First Illinois).

The Founders Medal of Honor was added in 1986 and is conferred by nomination of the Chapter Board of Directors. This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has been actively involved in HFMA for at least three years after earning the Muncie Gold Award, has provided significant service at the chapter, regional and/or national level in at least two of those years, and remains a member in good standing. A chapter may nominate members for this award at any time during the year.

Learn more about the Merit Awards! Download the PDF to learn more.